Catching Up…

I’ve been a bit behind at writing blog posts, sorry. I’m just so busy in Thailand!

This is my typical schedule:

Monday – Friday, I have class from 9:30 AM to 12:30 PM. After, we grab lunch, maybe hit a street market or buy a smoothie on the street. Late at night, some of us like to get a sugary snack. One of our favorites is the Volcano.

Volcano toast, mango, and vanilla ice cream from the Volcano

Sometimes though, I am studious and stay in to do my homework. On the weekends, our group does very adventurous things, like last week when we went to Doi Inthanon.

* * *

Last Sunday, on our way up to Doi Inthanon (which, by the way, I got horrible motion sickness and thought I was going to die), we stopped to see some elephants.

Me and an ellie
Me and an ellie

It was a bit sad because there was a short chain wrapped around one leg of each elephant. An elephant would try to walk away, but the chain prohibited this. I couldn’t bear to ride the elephants after seeing that.

After a few more stops, we were ready to begin our trek. In the beginning, we were walking right next to a waterfall. It was really slippery.

Beginning of our trek...
Beginning of our trek…
DSCF5188
Corinne and our guide by the falls

We had to cross a lot of sketchy bridges on the way too…

One of many sketchy bridges... Apparently, getting a picture was more important than my life
One of many sketchy bridges… Apparently, getting a picture was more important than my life

As we got closer to the end of our trek (perhaps one hour in), the trees cleared and we were able to see gorgeous views of the nearby village’s fields.

DSCF5199
Pretty sure these are rice fields…
DSCF5197
…but don’t quote me on that

Eventually, we made it to the top. Once there, two women from the village brewed us fresh coffee. I mean fresh. She literally picked coffee beans from a plant, smashed up the beans, then brewed the bits into coffee. Seriously, some of the best coffee I have ever had.

Coffee was a major motivation
Coffee was a major motivation

We walked through the village to get back to the vans.

Somewhat aerial view of the village
Somewhat aerial view of the village

Before we drove back to UniLoft, we stopped at a viewpoint of Wachirathan Waterfall. This was my favorite part of the entire day.

Wachirathan Waterfall
Wachirathan Waterfall

After the rest of the group walked down the stairs to get closer to the falls, I stood alone and stared at the massive waterfall in awe. I opened my palms towards the water and stood silently. As the water sprayed onto my face (sort of like a mister), I was overcome with so much intense emotion. I felt so grateful to be right there. Standing in front of that waterfall. Right then. In Thailand. Experiencing the amazingness that is Mother Nature. I felt my eyes bulge a bit, like they were about to become a waterfall themselves. I’ve never experienced such amazing, pure energy like that. Ever.

I will remember that moment for the rest of my life. That is my happy place. I will go back to that moment whenever a situation calls for it. I will remember the fresh smell of the water and trees, feeling the small spray of water on my skin, hearing that water tumble continuously over the rocks, and the sense of peace.

It’s really hard to put that experience into words because it was all feeling. A feeling that everything is okay, always. Always has been and always will be.

But trust me, it was the most amazing experience of my short, little life.

Wachirathan Waterfall
Wachirathan Waterfall (pictures do no justice)

Even as we drove off in the van, I couldn’t take my eyes of that amazing waterfall.

One thought on “Catching Up…

Leave a Reply

